Born in Turin in 1883, Maria Nielli became Nina Ricci upon arrival in Paris when she combined her
nickname with her husband’s last name. Her Haute Couture house was founded in 1932, at 20 Rue de
Capucines in Paris, complete with the design atelier and salons for fittings. Her technique, cuts,
balance and materials conferred striking simplicity on the Nina Ricci woman.
Her son, Robert Ricci, created the Perfume department in 1941. Cour-Joie appeared in 1946. Its bottle
initiated the house’s longstanding collaboration with the crystal maker Lalique, which in 1948 created
the celebrated bottle for L’Air du Temps. Crowned with crystal doves, it embodied love and liberty; the
fragrance became the iconic perfume of the House
1946.The Nina Ricci House created Coeur Joie, the House’s first perfume. Its second fragrance, L’Air
du Temps, is since 1948 the iconic classic known the world over and that has withstood the tests of time
Its fame helped consolidate the House’s international reputation. In time it was followed by three
new creations: Fille d’Eve, Capricci and Farouche.
This rich heritage is still alive today and an endless source of inspiration for the brand and its perfume